Who is going to sit in the new national parliament?

Following the April elections, candidates from 12 electoral lists have managed to win seats in the National Parliament, which means that there will be five more coalitions on the parliamentary benches compared to the previous parliament. Let us look at the new parliament’s structure.

For 117 MPs this will be their first seat in the parliament, while 132 have previous parliamentary experience and 105 of them come from a previous parliamentary convocation.

More than 80 parliamentarians are engaged in professions related to the social sciences, 41 work in law and economics, and 27 of them have had careers in education. New members of parliament are also engineers (22 parliamentarians), doctors (17), political scientists (17), managers (16), artists (12) and are engaged in other social sciences (12). There are also 13 retired parliamentarians. In addition to these professions, two students are now MPs, as are people who deal with natural sciences, sports, journalism, business and agriculture.

The largest number of MPs (120) comes from the ‘Aleksandar Vučić – Zajedno mozemo sve’ electoral list. In second place, but with far fewer MPs (38), is the list ‘Ujedinjeni za pobedu Srbije’, led by Marinika Tepić, and third is the list ‘Ivica Dačić – Premijer Srbije’, with 31 MPs. The Albanian coalition has the least number of representatives (only one, while the ‘SDA Sandžak and Zajedno za Vojvodina’ each have two representatives in the assembly.

The SNS party has 98 parliament members, the SPS 22 and the Freedom and Justice Party (SSP) 17 MPs. Five parties have one MP each – BGS, DSHV, Greens, ZZV and PDD. In terms of gender representation, in the new composition of parliament, there will be 38.4 per cent women (although the target was 40 per cent) and 61.6 per cent men.

In terms of age, the generation born between 1970 and 1979 dominates among future parliamentarians (30.4 per cent) and the overall average age is just over 47. Also, there are 14 members of parliament under the age of 30. The oldest MP is Vladeta Janković (born in 1940), while the youngest is Nikola Bokan (1999).

Looking at the regional distribution, 105 MPs come from the Belgrade municipalities, followed by MPs from Southern Banat in Vojvodina (30 MPs) and Raška district (13). The districts of Bor, Kosovo, Peć and Toplički each gave one representative, while none came from the districts of Kosovo-Pomoravlje and Prizren.

(Euronews, 24.07.2022)



This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top