Who are going to be new government ministers?

The new Serbian government, which is expected to start its term on October 28, will consist of at least 22 ministers, the majority of whom will come from the ranks of the Serbian Progressive Party (SNS).

As things currently stand, the Socialist Party of Serbia (SPS) will have two ministers in the new government, while the SPAS party and the coalition partners of the SNS, the parties of Rasim Ljajic and Milan Krkobabic, will get one each.

According to some sources, a government minister from the SPS, Branko Ruzic will continue being at the helm of the Ministry of State Administration and Local Self-Government, while Aleksandar Antic, who is now the Energy Minister, will be appointed the Minister of Transport. Another option is for the SPS to be “given” Ministry of Education, which is what they are aspiring to.

The newly formed Ministry of Family, Child and Demographic Care will most likely be assigned to Aleksandar Šapić’s SPAS party. Ratko Dmitrović from the SPAS will probably helm this ministry.

As announced, the President of Serbia and leader of the SNS party, Aleksandar Vučić, is expected to hold talks with the PUPS and the Serbian People’s Party in the coming days.

As things currently stand, Krkobabic (from PUPS), who was in charge of regional development, could expand his reach, having been engaged in similar jobs in the outgoing government, as a minister for regional development and coordination of the work of public companies without portfolio. It is not clear whether Nenad Popovic will continue to be the minister for innovation and technological development without portfolio.

The SDPS will continue to be represented in the government at ministerial level, Tatjana Matić becoming the minister of commerce, tourism and telecommunications, the post previously held by her party colleague, Rasim Ljaljić. Matić has been a state secretary at this Ministry so far.

Discover the most important foreign investments in Serbia in 2019: click here!

Siniša Mali and Branislav Nedimović will remain ministers of finance and agriculture respectively. Zorana Mihajlović will remain minister, but in this government convocation, she will probably be appointed energy minister. The former interior minister, Nebojsa Stefanovic, would be assigned to the post of the defence minister, while the previous defence minister, Aleksandar Vulin would now become the interior minister. The former speaker of parliament, Maja Gojković, will be appointed the culture and information minister.

The Secretary-General of the President of the Republic, Nikola Selaković, is the most likely candidate for the post of foreign minister. Considering that Prime Minister Ana Brnabić had praised the work of the health minister, Zlatibor Lončar, in the past, he will probably remain in the same position.

(Vecernje Novosti, 22.10.2020)




This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

scroll to top