Silk Road: Serbia one of founders of Support Group

A Serbian National Parliament delegation at the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly is one of the founders of the Silk Road Support Group which was formed in Minsk.

This informal group was founded by 17 countries – Albania, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Spain, Switzerland, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.

From 5th to 9th July, the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly had its general meeting in Minsk in which the delegation of the Serbian National Parliament also participated. Following the initiative from the Azeri delegate, the Silk Road Support Group was formed.

The goal of the group is to support further development of economic cooperation, promote economic and trade ties, develop multi-modal transport corridors and facilitate free flow of people, goods, services and capital.

Speaking at the Group’s founding session, the head of the Serbian delegation, Stefana Miladinovic pointed out that Serbia has been actively participating in the cooperation between China and sixteen countries in Central and Easter Europe, and added that the cooperation potential was great and that the citizens of the countries that were on the Silk Road stand to benefit the most from the various projects launched along the route.

Miladinovic and a member of the Serbian parliamentary delegation at the OSCE Assembly, Dusica Stojkovic signed the Group’s Articles of Association on behalf of Serbia. Apart from the aforementioned two members, the Serbian delegation also comprises of Meho Omerovic and Milimir Vujadinovic.

(eKapija, 09.07.2017)

This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top
× Thinking to invest in Serbia? Ask us!