Serbia to sign transport community agreement in Trieste

Serbia will sign the Transport Community Agreement at the summit of the Western Balkan leaders n Trieste which is a very important document for our country – says Minister of Construction, Transport and Infrastructure, Zorana Mihajlovic.

“This document will facilitate single transport market for all Western Balkan countries. Since Serbia borders with a number of countries, it is important for us to get properly connected to them”, Mihajlovic said for Radio and Television of Serbia (RTS).

She also said that the main transport corridors for Serbia were corridors 10 and 11, the railway in the direction of Hungary and the Nis-Merdare-Pristina motorway.

“Every new road we build brings new investments and new jobs. Just like we signed an agreement on a single electricity market ten years ago, now we are going to sign an agreement on a single transport market”, the minister said and added that the ultimate goal was to have no stoppages and no waiting time.on the Serbian borders.

Speaking about the opening of the Terminal 2B and reconstruction of the Terminal 1 of Nikola Tesla Airport, she said that that changes were not only cosmetic, but would also expedite the airport’s operations.

According to her, Nikola Tesla Airport is the fastest growing airport in the region that can take up to 7.5 million passengers.

Speaking about an ever increasing number of traffic accidents on Serbian road, Mihajlovic pointed out that the Ministry has been working hard on improving the road safety with the goal of having no children killed in road accidents in Serbia by the year 2020.

(Blic, 06.07.2017)

Share this post

One Reply to “Serbia to sign transport community agreement in Trieste”

  1. jj says:

    Nis-Merdare-Pristina motorway

    This is very unwise for Serbia to do business connection while Serbs have been ethnically cleansed from Kosovo and still cannot go back to their homes and property.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top