Serbia has not signed the US declaration on Afghanistan

The Western Balkan countries, with the exception of Serbia and Bosnia and Herzegovina, signed the US State Department’s statement on the situation in Afghanistan. In addition to Croatia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Slovenia and Kosovo, the document was signed by EU members as well as other countries around the world.

The document states the following:

Given the deteriorating security situation, we support, are working to secure, and call on all parties to respect and facilitate, the safe and orderly departure of foreign nationals and Afghans who wish to leave the country. Those in positions of power and authority across Afghanistan bear responsibility—and accountability—for the protection of human life and property, and for the immediate restoration of security and civil order. Afghans and international citizens who wish to depart must be allowed to do so; roads, airports and border crossing must remain open, and calm must be maintained. The Afghan people deserve to live in safety, security and dignity.  We in the international community stand ready to assist them.”

The document also lists the countries that signed the declaration, following the withdrawal from Afghanistan that was followed by the offensive of the Taliban forces.

The list below reflects the signatory countries as of August 17:  Albania, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cabo VerdeCanada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, The High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Grenada, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta , Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Moldova,  Montenegro, Morocco, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, North Macedonia, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Cyprus, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Spain, St. Kitts and Nevis, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, The Gambia, Togo, Tonga, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Yemen and Zambia.

(B92, 17.08.2021)



This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top