Serbia and Euroasian Economic Union to sign an agreement in October

The Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and Serbia are due to sign an agreement on free trade in October 2019, member of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission, Veronika Nikishina said at the international conference “From Idea to Reality: 25th Anniversary of Nursultan Nazarbayev’s Eurasian Initiative,” that is taking place held in the city of Nur-Sultan on Thursday.

“This year, we finalized the negotiations with Serbia and are now launching the procedure for the signing of this agreement. We expect to sign it in October,” Nikishina said.

Discover the most important investments in Serbia in 2018: click here!

Last January, Russian President, Vladimir Putin said that he expected the ongoing talks between the countries of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) about establishing a free trade zone with Serbia to be successfully completed soon.

The Eurasian Economic Union is a trade bloc established in 2015 based on the Customs Union of Russia, Kazakhstan, and Belarus. It was later joined by Armenia and Kyrgyzstan. In 2016, Vietnam officially became the first non-regional country to join the bloc which is designed to ensure the free movement of goods, services, capital and worker between member countries.

More than 40 countries and international organizations, including China, Indonesia, and Iran, as well as some South American countries, have expressed interest in a free trade deal with the EAEU.

(Blic, 11.04.2019)

This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top