As part of the Dani Beograda event on Saturday, 16 April, the entrance to four historical facilities on the Belgrade Fortress will be free of charge and they will be open from 11 am to 7 pm.
These four facilities are the Roman Well (Rimski bunar), the Nebojsa Tower (Kula Nebojsa), the Military Bunker (Vojni bunker) and the Large Gunpowder Store (Veliki barutni magacin).
The Roman Well was built in the period from 1717 to 1739, during the Austrian Baroque reconstruction of the Belgrade Fortress. The well is 60 metres deep and almost 3.5 metres wide.
The Nebojsa Tower, built in the 15th century was a defensive tower during Ottoman rule when it became a famous prison and an obscure symbol of Belgrade. Since 2011, the Tower has been used as an exhibition venue where, with the help of audiovisual effects, you can learn about Serbian and Greek history.
The Military Bunker was built in the 1950s and, in addition to the interior of the building, visitors can also see the exhibition ‘Umetnost u bunkeru’, dedicated to censorship in art in the 1960s and 1970s.
The Great Gunpowder Warehouse, built during the Austrian reconstruction of the Fortress, has ancient Roman stone monuments, stelae, sarcophagi and altars (from the second half of the 1st century to the 4th century) on display, which were collected and brought from various sites.
This post is also available in: Italiano