Implementation of ETIAS permits for non-EU citizens postponed

The EU Commission has once again postponed the introduction of an electronic entry system.

The new launch date is May 2025. Citizens from over 60 visa-free countries, including Serbia, will then have to apply for travel authorization in the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) before travelling to any of the 30 European countries. Originally the ETIAS rollout was scheduled for as early as 2021.

With a valid ETIAS travel authorization, travellers can enter as many times as they want for short-term stays – normally for up to 90 days within a 180-day period. Travellers who do not have a valid travel authorization will not be allowed to board their flight, bus, ferry or ship.

When a visa-exempt traveller arrives at a border of one of the 30 European countries for which ETIAS is mandatory, border officials electronically scan the data on his or her travel document and then trigger a query to ETIAS. If the traveller has a valid travel authorization, he or she can cross the border.

The relevant application form can be completed either through the official ETIAS website or the ETIAS mobile application. Information on whether the application has been approved will then be sent by email. Applying for the ETIAS travel authorization costs 7 euros. The ETIAS travel authorization is linked to the traveller’s passport and is valid for up to three years or until the passport expires, whichever comes first. Those who obtain a new passport must apply for a new ETIAS travel authorization.

Countries that are subject to the ETIAS system

Serbia, Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North Macedonia, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Seth Kitties and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the USA, Uruguay and Venezuela.

(eKapija, 04.01.2024)

This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top
× Thinking to invest in Serbia? Ask us!