Hungary closes its borders to Serbian nationals

The Hungarian government has announced that new restrictions on cross-border travel will be implemented on Wednesday, July 15, following an increase in cases of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in other countries.

Authorities announced that selected countries will be divided into “red” or “yellow” categories. Foreign nationals arriving from a “yellow” country will be required to go into quarantine for 14 days on their arrival in Hungary, whilst those arriving from a “red” country will be denied entry.

Discover the most important foreign investments in Serbia in 2019: click here!

Hungarian nationals are permitted entry if arriving from a “red” country; however, two negative tests will be required before they may leave quarantine. “Yellow” states include Bulgaria, China, Japan, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Sweden, the UK, and the US. “Red” states include Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Ukraine in addition to a number of destinations in Africa, Asia, and South America.

While Budapest International Airport (BUD) remains open, only Hungarian citizens and permanent residents of the European Economic Area (EEA) are permitted to enter the county.

The Hungarian government will review this measure once a week and act accordingly.

(, 11.07.2020)

This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

scroll to top