Germany puts Serbia back on the ‘red list’ of high-risk countries

Germany has again included Serbia in the list of countries at high risk of coronavirus infection. In addition to Serbia, Albania, Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Japan, Palestine and Sri Lanka have been added to the list, which is regularly updated every week.

The German Foreign Ministry has warned its citizens to avoid all tourist and unnecessary travel to Serbia from 5 September. At the same time, people who have stayed in one of the countries on the list ten days before entering Germany are obliged to start a ten-day quarantine immediately after their arrival in Germany.

The quarantine can end early if they produce evidence that they have been vaccinated, have already had the virus, or have a negative test, reads the website of the German Interior Ministry. Germany is not the only country that has tightened conditions for entry of Serbian citizens on its territory.


Serbia has been included in Romania’s ‘red list’ due to the worsening epidemiological situation after the country updated the list that will come into force on 5 September, according to a Romanian news agency. In order to enter Romania, Serbian citizens must be in mandatory quarantine for 14 days.

However, the following categories are exempt from quarantine – persons who have been vaccinated for at least 10 days, persons who have already had COVID prior to 180 days or at least 14 days prior to entering the territory of Romania; children up to 6 years of age (without the obligation to produce a negative PCR test result), children between 6 and 16 years of age (with the obligation of sending a negative PCR test result, not exceeding 72 hours), cross-border workers, students, persons who stay in Romania for a maximum of 72 hours (if they have a negative PCR test result) and persons in transit, provided that they leave the territory of Romania within 24 hours.


Albania has also tightened up its entry rules. Until now, Serbian citizens could only travel to the country with an identity card, and this will no longer be the case. New measures against the coronavirus have come into force in Albania, stipulating that no foreigner or Albanian citizen may enter the country without proof of being negative for the coronavirus.

As of 6 September, passengers entering the Republic of Albania, at all border crossings, must have one of the following documents:

Vaccination certificate (at least two weeks must have elapsed since the date of complete vaccination);

A negative PCR test (not older than 72 hours) or rapid antigen test (not older than 48 hours);

Certificate proving that person has recovered from COVID-19 (valid up to 6 months after recovery).

These rules apply to all persons (except children under 6 years of age), including those transiting only through Albania.

The list of precise rules for entry into individual countries is available on the website of the Albanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

(Nova, 06.09.2021)

This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top