First speculations about new government ministers

Speculations are rife about who is going to become a member of the new government.

The current Agriculture Minister and one of the SNS’s favourites, Branislav Nedimović, could become the Deputy Prime Minister in the new government. This is the last rumour leaked before the actual government sources. The new government should be formed immediately following the return of the Serbian delegation from talks with Priština officials in Washington on September 4 and Brussels on September 7.

Nedimović was considered a serious candidate for the seat of Prime Minister, but it is almost certain that Ana Brnabić will maintain the strongest position in the executive power, so Nedimović will be her deputy. However, nobody knows whether he will also continue to run the Ministry of Agriculture.

Unofficially, Zorana Mihajlović, the current Minister of Infrastructure, Transport and Construction, will also remain in the government and may move to the Ministry of Energy. The current Ministry of Infrastructure, Transport and Construction, due to its size, could be divided into two sections.

Discover the most important foreign investments in Serbia in 2019: click here!

In that case, the most serious candidate for the minister would be Marko Blagojević, the current director of the Public Investments Office.

The current speaker of the National Parliament, Maja Gojković, could be assigned the position of the Minister of Culture.

Although she never wanted to officially confirm this, Gojković has repeatedly said that she is interested in a position in the Ministry of Culture. She has also launched the initiative called “Art waiting for justice”, in order to find artwork that disappeared from the Parliament’s halls after the political upheaval of October 5, 2000.

According to unofficial information, the mayor of Novi Sad, Miloš Vučević, is close to being appointed the Minister of Justice.

Although the government seats have not yet been distributed, the current Defence Minister Aleksandar Vulin, Interior Minister Nebojša Stefanović and Health Minister Zlatibor Lončar, Jadranka Joksimović (minister without portfolio in charge of the EU accession), Vanja Udovičić (Sport and Youth Minister), Zoran Djordjević (Labour and Social Policy Minister), Vladan Vukosavljević (Culture Minister), Slavica Đukić Dejanović (Demographic Policy Minister), Branko Ružić (Minister of State Administration) and Goran Trivan (Minister of Environment) could retain ministerial positions.

Finally, if the SPS and SNS continue the partnership, the current Foreign Minister, Ivica Dačić and the current Energy Minister Aleksandar Antić have a good chance of being assigned a ministerial position in the new government.

(Mondo, 25.08.2020)


This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top