Changes to Serbian citizens’ entry into the EU

Serbian citizens can currently travel to the Schengen area without a visa or any prior authorization, but from 2023, this will no longer be possible without submitting an online application through the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS).

According to the initial plans, the ETIAS was supposed to become operational in January of 2023, but its implementation was moved to May 2023. Now, the system will not be in place until November 2023, as announced on the EU’s official website.

Serbian citizens will have to submit an online application form on the official ETIAS website or via a relevant mobile application, which will be launched when ETIAS becomes operational. The application should be completed no later than 96 hours before the travel date, and it must include an e-mail address, passport information, and personal information.

The final step is to pay the application fee via credit or debit card. The application fee will be 7 euros for all applicants older than 18 and younger than 70. A fee in the amount of 7 euros is charged when submitting the application. Minors and people over 70 years of age do not need to pay the fee.

From November 2023, Serbian citizens will have to have submit the ETIAS form to enter the following 30 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia , Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Accordingly, Serbian citizens will also need to submit the ETIAS form to visit the following European micro-states with open borders: Monaco (via France), San Marino (via Italy) and the Vatican (via Italy).

(Nova, 27.12.2022)

This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top