Brnabic submits the list of new government ministers

Consultations about the composition of the future Serbian government are entering the final phase, with most new government ministers already known.

Only the head of the new ministry of ecology is still unknown – it will be either Goran Trivan (SPS) or Branislav Nedimovic (SNS).

Branko Ruzic (SPS) will take over Brbabic’s state administration portfolio, while the second new ministry, of EU integration, will he headed by Jadranka Joksimovic.

The National Assembly should today consider 131 amendments filed to the draft Law on Ministries, which would enable Brbabic to present her program in a keynote address on June 28 – Vidovdan (St. Vitus Day). The newspaper says that she and her cabinet should take the oath of office a day later, on Thursday.

SPS leader and Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic said in Novi Sad on Sunday that his party supports the new government “unconditionally,” and that there was “a real need” to create two new ministries. The Socialists expect to have “four or five” members of the cabinet, something Dacic said he discussed with SNS leader and Serbian President Aleksandar Vucic.

He said that the ministers from the SPS will be proposed by PM-designate and that the party “defined the names”: beside him, SPS members of government will be Aleksandar Antic, Slavica Djukic-Dejanovic, and Branko Ruzic. If the SPS gets the ecology portfolio, then another “name” will be picked, said Dacic.

Serbia’s new government will have the votes of all members of the ruling coalition, except those from New Serbia (JS) led by Dragan “Palma” Markovic.

Ana Brnabic is due to forward her proposal for the new government ministers, and she is also supposed to present her report in the Parliament on Wednesday, 28th June. The deadline for the formation of the new government is 30th July, midnight.

A total of 126 MPs, out of a total of 250, need to vote in favour of the proposed new government.

What we know so far is that the current minister of labour, employment, veteran and social issues, Aleksandar Vulin is probably going to become the new defence minister. This was confirmed by the current defence minister, Zoran Djorjdevic who has switched places with Vulin and is about to be nominated for the new minister of labour.

“It is a great honour for me to be chosen by the future PM Ana Brnabic as a government minister. In the new government, I am going to be the minister of labour, employment, veteran and social issues”, Djordjevic was quoted as saying.

The activities regarding environmental protection will be now entrusted to the new ministry, while, from now on, it will be the Ministry of Economy which is going to deal with concessions and public-private partnership which was previously under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Telecommunications.


Prime Minister designate, Ana Brnabic has just submitted her proposal for the new government ministers to the members of the Serbian Parliament, as follows:

  1. Ivica Dacic – first deputy Prime Minister and foreign minister
  2. Nebojsa Stefanovic – deputy Prime Minister and interior minister
  3. Rasim Ljajic – deputy Prime Minister and minister of trade, tourism and telecommunications
  4. Zorana Mihajlovic – deputy Prime Minister and minister of construction, transport and infrastructure
  5. Dusan Vujovic – finance minister
  6. Goran Knezevic – economy minister
  7. Branislav Nedimovic – minister of agriculture, forestry and water management
  8. Goran Trivan – minister of environmental protection
  9. Aleksandar Antic – minister of mining and energy
  10. Nela Kuburovic – justice minister
  11. Branko Ruzic – minister of state administration and local self-government
  12. Aleksandar Vulin – defence minister
  13. Jadranka Joksimovic – minister of European integration
  14. Mladen Sarcevic – minister of education, science and technological development
  15. Zlatibor Loncar – health minister
  16. Zoran Djordjevic – minister of labour, employment, veteran and social issues
  17. Vanja Udovicic – minister of youth and sport
  18. Vladan Vukosavljevic – minister of culture and information
  19. Slavica Djukic-Dejanovic – minister without portfolio
  20. Milan Krkobabic – minister without portfolio
  21. Nenad Popovic – minister without portfolio

(INSerbia, eKapija, Blic, 27.06.2017)



This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top