Belgrade Philharmonics to perform techno

The Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra and its chief conductor, Gabriel Feltz will perform a series of unusual compositions on Friday, November 23rd, including Thomas Ades’ “Asyla” which depicts the atmosphere of a dark, underground techno club.

Before this, the Orchestra will perform the classic Mozart’s piece “A Little Night Music”, followed by the performance of Sergey Krylov, one of the best violinists in the world.

“Asyl”, the piece composed by the contemporary British author Thomas Ades, takes us to the dark side of the late 20th century – life in megalopolises and techno parties in big clubs, as well as all the vices that come with that. Gabriel Feltz says that the piece is something quite special.

“At the beginning of the concert, I will talk about the “Asyla”, and explain through concrete examples what the composer wanted to say with this music. As the chief conductor of this great orchestra, I think it is very important that we do not only perform music from the past but also to take the audience to an exciting journey through fantastic examples of contemporary music”, Feltz said.

An interesting piece of trivia about Thomas Ades – while working on this piece, the composer experienced panic attacks, with symptoms similar to those caused by the use of ecstasy. The piece itself involves a lot of unusual percussion instruments, including cowbells, cans, pots, knives and forks.

A hundred tickets in the standing area will be available for purchase an hour before the concert at the Kolarac box office.

(N1, 20.11.2018)


This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

scroll to top