As of 2022, Serbian citizens will have to apply for an ‘instant visa’ to enter the EU

To enter one of the EU countries, Serbian citizens will need a permit or “instant visa” from next year, which will cost 7 euros.

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) is expected to become fully operational by 2022, after which some 1.4 billion people from more than 60 countries, who have so far been able to enter the Schengen area visa-free, will have to apply for this so-called instant visa or as it is also called “travel approval”, before travelling to one of the EU countries, Brussels announced.

Such a practice already exists in the US, Canada and Australia, while the very idea of introducing ETIAS dates back to 2016. The system was supposed to be implemented this year, but it was delayed due to the pandemic.

ETIAS is supposed to help with the security, health and migration risks and it is applicable to a total of 62 countries that are not EU members, but whose citizens can travel visa-free in the Schengen zone.

In addition to Serbia, this list includes, among others, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates and the United States.

According to the authorities, the EU system will be very easy, fast and simple to use. Serbian citizens planning to travel to the EU will have to fill out an online application, which will take no more than ten minutes.

All applicants, aged 18 to 70, will have to pay 7 euros for this service, while it will be free for minors, and their data will have to be filled in and sent by their parents or legal guardians. A few minutes after filing an application, the applicant will receive an answer to their e-mail address accepting your application for an “instant visa”, which will be valid for 3 years (for each stay of up to 90 days) or as long the applicant’s passport is valid. In case of refusal, the applicant will receive an explanation for the refusal and will be able to appeal.

With this document, once the applicant has entered the country indicated as their first destination, they will be able to visit all other EU countries.

(Politika, 21.10.2021)


This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top