Agreement on selecting Belgrade as the seat of the Western Balkan Transport Community signed

The Serbian government and the European Commission have signed an agreement in London confirming that the seat of the Western Balkan Transport Community will be in Belgrade.

The agreement was signed within the framework of the Western Balkans Summit, which is being held today and tomorrow in the capital of Great Britain. The Serbian Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic was present at the signing ceremony.

The European Transport Commissioner, Violeta Bulc tweeted that this was “another important milestone that brings us closer to a fully functioning transport community between the EU and the Western Balkans” and added that it was a “huge achievement for the whole region”.

The European Commissioner for European Neighborhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, Johannes Hahn and an EC official, Genoveva Ruiz Calavera also expressed their congratulations on the agreement signed.

Hahn tweeted that this was “good news for connectivity and cooperation in the Western Balkans” and that “all WB6 agree on seat of Transport Community in Belgrade”.

Ruiz Calavera congratulated on the agreement in a tweet and added that the EU would fund 80% of its Secretariat in Belgrade “to accelerate the EU-Western Balkans Connectivity agenda”. 

The European Commission signed a Transport Community Treaty with Serbia, Montenegro, Albania, Kosovo and Macedonia at a summit in Trieste, Italy, in July. Bosnia and Herzegovina signed the treaty in September.

The key objective of the treaty is a deeper integration of the Western Balkan region with the EU transport market towards common standards, network efficiency and quality of service offered to citizens and businesses.

(N1, 09.07.2018)




This post is also available in: Italiano

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top
× Thinking to invest in Serbia? Ask us!